Hey folks! Due to the global response to the COVID-19 outbreak, WOTC has announced that they will be making some adjustments to the release schedule of the new Magic: the Gathering set, Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths.

Here’s the preliminary schedule provided by WOTC. Please keep in mind that as the COVID-19 outbreak evolves, dates may be further revised.

  • April 2 – Ikoria Debut, trailer launch, (7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. UTC) and the start of previews
  • April 10 – Last day of previews
  • April 16 – Ikoria released on Magic: The Gathering Arena and Magic Online
  • April 17 – Prerelease/release in Japan, Korea, China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong
  • May 15* – Prerelease/release in North America, Europe, Latin America, and Australia/New Zealand

*Also includes Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Singapore, and Vietnam

Additionally, WOTC are implementing some relief strategies to help lighten the burden on local game stores (like us!)

  • Mystery Booster reprint allocated to WPN member stores at no charge (every dollar you spend on these goes straight to the store!)
  • MTG Arena tournaments – local game stores will be allowed to collect admission fees up to $10 to facilitate online tournaments

Click here to check out the official WOTC article if you’d like to read up on all the details.